Thoughts as I Drive Through Kentucky

Shannon
3 min readJul 2, 2019

Enough to invite a detour, but not on this road trip.

My son and I are headed to Ohio to see his father and his half-sisters. We live in Texas, and as it turns out, Texas is a long, long, long way from Ohio. I like to drive, but by the time we hit Kentucky, 15 hours into the 20-hour drive, my mind was wandering as I drove mostly on auto-pilot.

It didn’t help that as we crossed the state line my son asks, “So, what’s in Kentucky?” Then he proceeded to fall asleep.

So, what is in Kentucky?

From my horse-crazy childhood, I know there’s the Kentucky Derby. We passed Churchill Downs, and somewhere the Budweiser Clydesdales are raised.

Photo by Mathew Schwartz on Unsplash

Any Gen X’er worth their dirt saw Coal Miner’s Daughter about Loretta Lynn from Kentucky, and there are plenty of coal mines still around, although those are rarely advertised for tours.

Of course, Kentucky Fried Chicken.

Photo by Aleks Dorohovich on Unsplash

--

--

Shannon

Mother. Geographer. Curious about people and the world.